Governor Ron DeSantis on the Recommendation of a Grand Jury Removes 4 Broward County School Board Members

The gross negligence surrounding the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School shootings in March 2018 was astounding including failures by the School District, the local FBI, the Broward Cowards in the Broward County Sheriff’s Office, including Sheriff Israel, and even the Administrator’s of the High School itself.

Parents of children murdered sued the School District for negligence and received $130 million after settling with the Department of Justice.

Remember that the School District had taken a large Grant from Obama/Holder called the “Promises Program” to suppress the criminal activity of minority students including the killer Cruz.  Also both the Broward County Sheriff’s Office and FBI had numerous reports on social media warning about Cruz that they failed to follow up on.  Sheriff Israel had a terrible policy in regard to response to active shootings; his Deputy stationed at the school was a coward hiding behind those policies and the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Administration failed in many ways.

These terrible mass murders were preventable.

This was outlined in the Special Commission’s Report on the shootings.

Sadly, the result was a knee jerk reaction by Republicans under pressure in the Legislature to quickly drum up a Red Flag Law modeled after existing Blue State Laws which reduced the rights of law abiding gun owners.

DeSantis removes more local elected officials from office. This time, it’s school board members

Zac Anderson Tallahassee Democrat:

Gov. Ron DeSantis is removing more local elected officials from office, this time on the recommendation of a grand jury.

DeSantis announced Friday he is removing Broward County School Board members Patricia Good, Donna Korn, Ann Murray and Laurie Rich Levinson. They serve the nation’s sixth-largest school district and second-largest in Florida.

A grand jury investigating school safety issues in the wake of the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Broward County recommended that the school board members be removed. The grand jury accused the elected officials of “incompetence and neglect of duty.”

“We recommend that the Governor remove them from their elected offices,” the grand jury report states.

DeSantis immediately appointed four people to replace the suspended school board members:

  • Torey Alston, a former Broward County commissioner and president of Indelible Solutions;
  • Manual “Nandy” A. Serrano, a member of the Florida Sports Foundation Board of Directors, and CEO and Founder of Clubhouse Private Wealth;
  • Ryan Reiter, a U.S. Marine veteran and Director of Government Relations for Kaufman Lynn Construction;
  • Kevin Tynan, an attorney who previously served on the Broward County School Board and South Broward Hospital District.

©Royal A. Brown III. All rights reserved.


DeSantis suspends Democratic state attorney he accuses of being ‘woke,’ not enforcing laws

Supreme Court Rules on Firing of Catholic School Teacher Over Same-Sex Marriage

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *