Tag Archive for: house speaker

Jim Jordan Fails To Become Speaker of the House In Second Round Of Votes

House Judiciary Chairman Jim Jordan failed to receive enough votes Wednesday to become the next Speaker of the House.

After the second round of votes, Jordan was shy of the necessary 217 to win the Speakership. The final quorum call put the House attendance at 432, meaning 217 remains the majority threshold unless members voted “present” during the roll call vote for Speaker.

Oklahoma Republican Rep. Tom Cole gave Jordan’s nomination speech on the House floor before the vote.

Ahead of the vote, Jordan told reporters: “I think we gotta decide today. Are we going to have a Republican Speaker?”

22 Republicans ended up voting against Jordan during the second ballot.

Nebraska Rep. Don Bacon was the first House Republican to vote against Jordan, placing his vote for McCarthy. The second no-vote for Jordan came from Florida Rep. Vern Buchanan. Colorado Rep. Ken Buck then voted against Jordan, placing his vote for House Majority Whip Tom Emmer.

Oregon Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer voted for McCarthy instead of Jordan. New York Rep. Anthony D’Esposito voted for New York GOP Gubernatorial candidate Lee Zeldin. Florida Rep. Mario Díaz-Balart was the sixth no-vote for Jordan, placing his vote for House Majority Leader Steve Scalise.

Georgia Rep. Drew Ferguson also voted for Scalise instead of Jordan. New York Rep. Andrew Garbarino voted for Zeldin. Florida Rep. Carlos Giménez was the 10th no-vote for Jordan, voting for McCarthy. Texas Rep. Tony Gonzales voted for Scalise. Texas Rep. Kay Granger voted against Jordan, placing her vote for Scalise.

Michigan Rep. John James ended up voting for former Michigan Rep. Candace Miller instead of Jordan. Pennsylvania Rep. Mike Kelly voted for former Speaker of the House John Boehner. Virginia Rep. Jen Kiggans voted for McCarthy. New York Rep. Nick LaLota voted for Zeldin. New York Rep. Mike Lawler voted for McCarthy. Iowa Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks ended up voting for Granger.

Florida Rep. John Rutherford voted for Scalise. Idaho Rep. Mike Simpson also voted for Scalise, making him the 20th no-vote against Jordan.

Minnesota Rep. Pete Stauber voted for Arkansas Rep. Bruce Westerman. Arkansas Rep. Steve Womack voted for Scalise.

Former Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy announced Monday he would endorse Jordan to become the next Speaker. Many other Republicans followed after McCarthy’s endorsement.

Jordan lost the first ballot for Speaker on Tuesday, with 20 Republicans voting against him.

Conservative donors told the Daily Caller on Monday night they are pledging to withhold funding from Republican House members who refuse to support Jordan for Speaker.

The House went into recess after the vote, as Republicans will now have to figure out how to get to 217.



Chief national correspondent. Follow Henry Rodgers On Twitter.



Here Are The 20 Republicans Who Voted Against Jim Jordan For Speaker In First Ballot Vote

Jim Jordan Fails To Receive Enough Votes For Speaker Of The House In First Round Of Votes

Conservative Donors Pledge To Withhold Funding From GOP Members Who Vote Against Jim Jordan For Speaker

EDITORS NOTE: This Daily Caller column is republished with permission. ©All rights reserved.

House Republicans Nominate Steve Scalise For Speaker In Secret Ballot Vote

House Republicans nominated House Majority Leader Steve Scalise to be the next speaker of the House by a margin of 113 of the 212 votes cast in a secret ballot vote Wednesday.

Behind closed doors, House Republicans debated who should lead their caucus, as the party was not unified behind a candidate before the meeting. Ohio Republican Rep. Jim Jordan, who received the other 99 votes, is also seeking the gavel, while recently ousted speaker Kevin McCarthy had support from several members but told colleagues not to re-nominate him, according to multiple reports.

Scalise will need 217 votes on the floor to be elected as speaker of the House.

Reps. Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota, Erin Houchin of Indiana and Mike Carey of Ohio delivered nominating speeches at the meeting on behalf of Jordan.

Scalise received nominating speeches from Reps. Frank Lucas of Oklahoma, Ashley Hinson of Iowa and John James of Michigan.

Both Scalise and Jordan, who chairs the House Judiciary Committee, said they were running for House speaker just one day after Kevin McCarthy was ousted on Oct. 3. After losing the speakership, McCarthy said he is leaving the position “with a sense of pride [and] accomplishment.” He later dismissed rumors that he planned to resign from Congress and announced his intention to seek another term.

The U.S. House voted to remove McCarthy as speaker after Democrats joined with eight House Republicans to vote for a motion to vacate the chair.

Republican Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz filed the motion, which gained support from Democrats after McCarthy refused to make concessions in return for their votes.



Chief national correspondent. Follow Henry Rodgers On Twitter.


Pro-Life Congressman Steve Scalise Wins Republican Vote, Will be GOP Speaker Nominee

McCarthy Addresses Media After Being Ousted As Speaker, Says He Will Not Run Again

Jim Jordan Announces Bid For Speaker Of The House


EDITORS NOTE: This Daily Caller column is republished with permission. ©All rights reserved.

Rep. Matt Gaetz Votes For Trump For House Speaker

Republican Florida Rep. Matt Gaetz cast a vote on Thursday for former President Donald Trump to be speaker of the House.

House Republicans failed to elect a speaker on the seventh ballot, with opponents to Republican California Rep. Kevin McCarthy refusing to increase his vote tally. McCarthy received 201 votes, Republican Florida Rep. Byron Donalds garnered 20 votes, and Gaetz was the sole representative to vote for Trump.

The race for the speakership will continue until a candidate reaches a majority of 218 votes.

Gaetz said he would vote for Trump for speakership in March.

“Give us the ability to Fire Nancy Pelosi, take back the majority, impeach Joe Biden and I’m going to nominate Donald Trump as Speaker of the United States House of Representatives,” Gaetz said at the time.

Trump urged Republicans to vote for McCarthy on Wednesday to “close the deal, take the victory” and “watch Nancy Pelosi fly back home to a very broken California.”

“Republicans, do not turn a great triumph into a giant & embarrassing defeat. It’s time to celebrate, you deserve it,” Trump said on Truth Social.

He also said if Republicans are going to fight, they should be fighting against Minority Leader Mitch McConnell.



White House correspondent.


House Rejects Kevin McCarthy For Seventh Straight Vote

‘VOTE FOR KEVIN’: Trump Doubles Down On McCarthy’s Speaker Bid

EDITORS NOTE: This Daily Caller column is republished with permission. ©All rights reserved.